top of page
  • Writer's picturebeehelm0410

Its been a funny old fortnight from April to May

Highlights lowlights and everything in between .....


It's May Day - Workers Day or International Workers Day and the first official day of Spring in the northern hemisphere. A national holiday in South Africa, the United Kingdom and other countries; in London preparations are underway for the coronation of King Charles, protests complete with violent clashes are underway in Paris, people are fleeing war-torn Sudan, Russia continues its diabolic warfare in Ukraine and in South Africa the loadshedding rollercoaster ride continues. New Zealand, Australia, Uruguay and the United Kingdom have issued travel advisory warnings for the citizens of those respective countries wanting to travel to the United States of America because of the ongoing pandemic of mass shootings - its hard to comprehend that a country which boasts a national anthem with the words "O'er the land of the free" is now known as a gun-toting mass shooting country to be avoided at all costs. In the past few weeks people have been shot and/or killed for running into a neighbour's garden to retrieve a toy ball; for accidentally turning into the incorrect driveway and doing a u-turn to rectify that error; for innocently knocking on the door of an incorrect house.


I will never ever understand the obsession with guns from posing for photos with guns, to always being "locked and loaded" to shooting a person for simply knocking at the front door of a house. I know my abhorrence stems from having to look down the barrel of a rifle on a number of occasions Morgan, Tristan and I were held at gunpoint by Morgan and Tristan's father. On so many occasions it is revealed that the people who sport guns and posing with them, are generally insecure and suffering from various internal issues which results in their obsessions with guns in order to feel better about themselves. There are far healthier options to improving a person's sense of self-worth and purpose.


On the homefront, life is eventful. My 91 year old Mom had a fall in her bedroom in the early hours of Saturday morning (22 April) so I spent several hours on the Saturday morning with her at Sandton Mediclinic in the ER - old age is really not for sissies; your skin thins and if you are on medication which thins the blood the end result is that you have to have stitches. She did get first class treatment and attention and thankfully I was home in time to get organised to leave with Johan, for the Co-Anon support group meeting. I shared at the meeting talking about Tristan's battle with addiction the why and how I wrote the book etc and my emotional reaction was unplanned and unexpected; there were quite a number of tears at the meeting and it was a privilege and honour to share and hopefully help others on the same journey. I managed to sell some copies of my books which is always a bonus.


Coffee and hours catching up with Nadine on a very sunny Sunday morning at Syringa Cafe was fun so I barreled into the new week with renewed vigour which was desperately needed as the week was increasingly challenging and frustrating. It was a disruptive week as Thursday was a national holiday and clever people took a day's leave on Friday (not me and I had to collect my Mom from Sandton Mediclinic as she had returned for more xrays because of bruising and swelling of her right hand, soft tissue damage due to the fall and aggravated by her suffering from arthritis in her hands) so they were able to enjoy an extra long weekend since today is again a holiday. Wednesday saw me going into the office as I had the chance to market and sell my books at a "mix and mingle" social event organised for all the staff. I am grateful for the opportunity which was successful judging from the book sales and interest in my book which was incredibly heartwarming and humbling.





Freedom Day was spent on some self-care for me - new nails and aesthetic treatment for my frown line (no its not botox) which I have neglected to do all this year, followed by a quick coffee and catch up with Maure, delivering shopping to my Mom before returning home and an outing with Johan.



Fun nail art courtesy of the very talented and creative Pumla at Pure Skin, Bryanston


Its been a couple of weeks of amazing events for both Johan and I.


Firstly, Johan's hobby of card artistry and magic, has suddenly taken flight and before he could say abracadabra he was invited to participate in a night of magic on 18 May 2023 at a restaurant in the Johannesburg northern suburbs. This is so exciting for him; as a family we know he is excellent as do the friends who have been privileged to see him perform is card tricks and magic. We are all so proud of him and it is an amazing achievement for him - he will be performing alongside local magician legends, Wolflock and Li Lau who has performed on America's Got Talent. Johan's stage name is "AJ" and the photo in the poster is courtesy of Skye.


If you are in Jo'burg on 18th May 2023 and feel like an evening of good food and magical entertainment, we hope to see you at the Clay Oven - tickets are R100 each (you order food off the restaurant's menu) and are available at the link below the poster.






Sales of "My Son Went to Rehab, I Went to Rome" are going brilliantly and I am pleased with the momentum and the sales all through (mostly) my own self-marketing. And *drum roll* my debut book is now available on Amazon both either as the paper back or in Kindle format.

In South Africa it is available from 7 Sins in Greenside, the Value Publishing in Edenvale, directly from me (and I will send copies of my books to a Postnet in other towns) and via https://dotdot.direct/.../my-son-went-to-rehab-i-went-to.../


I have a profile on Instagram for my "writing business" barbara_steyn_author and if you are not following this profile as well as my personal profile on IG, I would be so grateful if you would. And to those who have read / are reading my book, if you feel inclined to provide me with a review for the website, I will be eternally grateful - this can be sent to me on e-mail or WhatsApp.


Life is all about learning lessons and just when I thought I was way too old to learn more lessons, I am learning that jealousy and envy are still green-eyed monsters even when you are as ancient as I am. A friend (who is named in the book!) cannot seem to congratulate me on my debut book. Publishing my book was not about looking for any form of affirmation whatsoever but obviously we are all human and to be congratulated on this accomplishment is greatly appreciated; but she simply cannot seem to do this. This is someone who I have known for years. Someone who I have dropped everything for and driven a vast distance to spend hours providing support, comfort, advice, tissues hugs, love and more when another relationship hit the skids etc; someone whom I forgave when I was not valued as a friend because her choice of a partner was dubious and abusive but he was far more important than having me as a friend. She can wish Johan Happy Birthday and wished us a Happy Anniversary but the crickets have been deafening in terms of the release of my book. This is exceptionally hurtful for me. It takes seconds to type the word "congratulations" but it has not happened and she ignored all my messages, phone calls, voice notes and messages on Facebook messenger enquiring whether she would attend the book launch. This is an experience I will let go off and move on with in my life, though I had to acknowledge this and how it has made me feel.

We had a belated celebration for Johan's birthday (which was on 16 April) and a celebration for our 10 year wedding anniversary (30 April) on Saturday evening at Mythos in the Design Quarter. Excellent service, delicious food and a great atmosphere. Alyssa organised and brought along beautiful birthday balloons for Johan complete with the wording "Happy Birthday Magic Man"





It was an evening of love, laughter, festivity and fun. It was so awesome to celebrate with Alyssa and Morgan, Skye an Tristan, Theo and Zen. Sunday was our 10 year wedding anniversary and we enjoyed a mini-getaway to celebrate a decade of marriage and for Johan, a decade of tolerating me ! We went to The Sandton Farmhouse, an incredible building housing an exquisite bed and breakfast. I had won a night's accommodation with dinner through a lucky draw event at my work and we saved it for this event. The building which was originally a farmhouse has these beautiful thick stone walls and is very tastefully furnished with antiques, art and artefacts. A small "Happy Anniversary" balloon and roses were placed in our room together with a bottle of delicious MMC Montpellier champagne and for dinner we were treated to a really good Montpellier chenin blanc. We were waited on hand and foot and had a very relaxing time in this tranquil place.


Tomorrow's sunrise heralds the return of "normalcy", back to the hamster wheel of sleep, shower, eat, work, rinse and repeat. I am grateful for everything - every achievement, accomplishment, acknowledgment, celebration, the opportunity to connect with those I appreciate and love.


In the last week I have been told that a friend and colleague has stage 4 pancreatic cancer and opting for quality of life in the remaining months of her life she has foregone chemotherapy; and over the weekend a former colleague lost her son and his fiancé we think in a car accident - very tragic reminders how fragile our grasp on life is and every opportunity to make memories and be with those we love and cherish, and those who love and cherish us should be made.


Out and about, recommendations and referrals

  • Syringa Cafe - https://syringa-cafe.weebly.com/

  • Super Sconto - http://www.supersconto.co.za/

  • Infinity Hair Salon - https://infinity-hair-nail-salon.business.site/

  • Pure Skin, Bryanston - https://pureskinaesthetics.co.za/ (Pumla is the very best nail technician)

  • Jacksons Real Food Market - https://jacksonsrealfoodmarket.co.za/

  • Reea Bookshop - https://www.bookshop.reea.org.za/

  • Mythos - https://mythos.co.za/

  • The Sandton Farmhouse - https://www.sandtonfarmhouse.co.za/

What have I been reading/are reading?

  • A Noble Radiance by Donna Leon

What have I been watching on the small screen?

  • Pointless - BBC brilliant quiz show

  • My usual staple of "bubblegum" tv

  • Rabbit Hole - fascinating, mind-bending action drama thriller

  • Love and Death - a brilliant portrayal of a true life event in Texas; produced by David E Kelley


What have I been listening to?

  • The Damage Report

  • Mel Robbins Podcast

  • Something was Wrong

  • What came Next

  • Prosecuting Donald Trump

  • True Crime Daily

  • Witnessed : Devil in the Ditch

Still listening to on Audible, "Tiny Beautiful Things" by Cheryl Strayed - I have the tv series of the same name (again a Reese Witherspoon masterpiece) but want to finish listening to the book before watching the tv series.


Wherever you are in the world, take care, be safe and be awesome!


Disclaimer : my blogs are my thoughts, my emotions, my experiences, my words, my feelings - I take full ownership

11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Sh*t my Mom never taught me. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page