top of page
  • Writer's picturebeehelm0410

Its been three funny old weeks and then some!

Reunions, rain, rabbit holes, leaks, loadshedding and more ....


As May rapidly barrels towards June in South Africa we continue the crazy rollercoaster of navigating loadshedding with no light at the end of the corrupted and broken tunnel.


Loadshedding, traffic lights not working, potholes, soaring cost of living, a President who is in hiding, a currency weakening daily and more does impact each and everyone's lives in South Africa whether we want it to or not. This is the reality of our lives and its very hard to be positive about the prospects of this beautiful country.


On a home front we continue to deal with the mysterious leak from our shower - another ongoing boring issue - and since we could not shower for a week so everything could dry out and the landlord can attempt to repair the problem (he did undertake repairs but the minute we were permitted to shower again the leak appeared again - so frustrating), so I quickly went to Roxy this last week for a wash and blow wave. The lady washing my hair told me that life for South Africans was so much better in the previous regime as everyone had homes and jobs. An interesting perspective from someone living in Soweto.


I try to not work in the dark with the only light source being an emergency light as that is not at all optimal either for my eyes or work but those have been the circumstances.


The weeks since my last blog post have been a few akin to "Groundhog Day", the exceptions and highlights being a wonderful reunion with Wendy after not seeing her for over 2.5 years, it was all too brief but it was so special to see her again and spend some time with her.


Wendy and me

“Friends are those rare people who ask how we are and then wait to hear the answer."


It is always so good to connect with like minded people who uplift you, share the same principles, morals, values and ethics whilst also celebrating who you are and your achievements. Its been a huge eye-opener to me that there are some 'friends' who have not even been able to send me a congratulatory message or even just type the words 'congratulations' on a post on social media about my book. Another life lesson for sure and some may think I am being overly dramatic or sensitive; I make no apologies for who I am and the fact that I may care and love too deeply (if there is such a thing).


On the other side people from the USA to Taiwan are buying my book on Amazon and in South Africa directly from me and I continue to be humbled and so incredibly grateful for all the love and support, and positive reviews I am receiving from those who have purchased and read my book. It is brilliant that some members of my family are buying the book if they have not done so already and some are reading it; hopefully one day I can write that everyone in my family has read my debut book.

'

My circle of friends mean so much to me and even if its just a quick coffee and catch up, that means the world to me especially when it means I actually step away from my desk during the work week and actually have a lunch hour. Its far too easy to simply stayed velcroed to my chair at my des working throughout the day without stretching my legs apart from a comfort break.



Angie and me

“Find a group of people who challenge and inspire you; spend a lot of time with them, and it will change your life.”

Amy Poehler


Jo'burg has been having so much unseasonal rain including huge thunderstorms and winter feels like its approaching early. With Saziso away in Zimbabwe for over a week, we were coping with dogs with cabin fever and muddy pawprints on the tiles when they were able to venture outside or were tempted to put their paws out in the garden.


It was a wonderful treat to be spoilt and treated to breakfast on Sunday 7 May at The Fat Zebra in Linden. No photographs were taken during the course of this special event. It was really special to have this quality time with my two incredible sons; we used to do this fairly regularly but sadly through the passage of time and pressures of work, it is something which became neglected and discarded. This is the year to reinstate this and I look forward to the next breakfast with Morgan and Tristan in the next couple of months if not earlier.


In the last few weeks I have done service leading the Saturday Co-Anon support meeting and the Sunday Serenity Around the World meeting. Thank goodness this was possible despite the challenge of loadshedding and connectivity.



One reason for the unseasonal rain and storms in Jo'burg could be that I did a training session with Alyssa on Friday, 12 May at 6am! It was a very good and gentle session which I so appreciated since I am most certainly one of the most out of shape and unconditioned people on the planet but I got a good workout as the next day my quads were in shock and protest so I was shuffling like a centenarian, whereas every other day I'm like .....



It was the most sensible option for Mother's Day to have the family at our house for tea. Easy (ish) access for my Mom, not too noisy so she can hear everyone and we had a lovely Sunday afternoon Mother's Day tea with her, Alyssa, Skye, Morgan and Tristan. I made some delicious sandwiches suitable for afternoon tea and baked very decadent chocolate brownies. It was a very happy afternoon and my Mom loved the soft mint green scarf we gave her as a family - I thought it was perfect to keep her neck and shoulders warm even while she is watching tv or reading. Very simple, relaxing, casual and real - in our true authentic style!




My beautiful flowers and card from Alyssa and Morgan


And today I was surprised with this lovely message and gift from our gardener, Austin aka Ozzie


Thursday, 18 May was Johan's big night and his very first professional performance as "Magic AJ" at The Clay Oven in Northriding, Johannesburg. It was literally a dark and stormy night and driving to the venue I was almost taken out by one of the thousand blind drivers who bought their licenses in a lucky packet and have no idea how to conduct themselves and their vehicles on the road let alone at traffic light intersections when there is loadshedding. I arrived at The Clay Oven rather shook up and late which I was not happy about but thankfully the Night of Magic restored my spirits and equanimity. Morgan, Alyssa, Tristan and Skye were there along with Austin, Mike and Tay and some of Johan's work colleagues were also there. We were treated to predictions and mentalism by the magician, Wolflock, glass and fire eating by One Crazy China Li Lau who also hammered a nail into his nostril and Johan's magic tricks floored and delighted all the audience. We are so very proud of him. As Morgan so aptly said:


"Dude, last night you were a different animal, a different beast! You f***g killed it, making Dumbledoor look like a fraud 😉 you were incredible! Not only were your tricks impressive and as always hilarious but your performance, stage presence and entertainment was through the roof 🔥

Proud of You Man!"


Magic AJ in action!


We await with anticipation and expectation his next magical performance. No pressure Johan!


It certainly has been a time of great achievements, accomplishments and events. Alyssa organised a very successful slick and stunning event on Saturday, 20 May getting a group of approximately 20 ladies moving outside in below 5 degrees temperatures with an hour long boot camp followed by prosecco, mimosas if you so wished, hot chocolate, coffee and/or fruit juices, Krispy Kreme doughnuts and a pampering session of choice. Some participants opted for a wash and blow-dry, some for pedicures and others, manicures. Angie and Bronwyn joined me and we had a truly marvellous time despite my lacklustre performance in the boot camp trying to lurk in the back row and make my 6 foot tall too large frame invisible (Lindy you were sorely missed but glad you had a great spa day!). Angie and Bronwyn had pedicures whilst I opted for a nail soak off and manicure as my nails desperately needed attention. It was truly a supreme treat and the divine goodie bags were the proverbial "cherry on the top". I have already asked Alyssa when the next such event will be as there is a demand for it and I so enjoyed the quality time with beautiful friends but also the opportunity to get moving and today I am not shuffling like I did last weekend!


Angie, me, with Alyssa and Bronwyn in the front


Johan and I enjoyed brunch with Lindy this morning at Silver Birch at Lifestyle; it was sunny and warm enough to sit outside and have a great catch up. It's been a quiet day otherwise which I have needed. Its been a very stressful and tense few weeks, lots of internal turmoil for me but I am working through it and always working on being the very best version of me that I can be!


For me, whilst we are steam-rollling towards June, May does seem to be taking forever despite days disappearing in a blink the groundhog day feeling of the month persists or may its just me ..... it is not "The Darling Buds of May" the title of the famous book by H E Bates and the title of the popular UK tv series.


Zen and I have both been exploring various rabbit holes courtesy of certain podcasts. And while it is not a rabbit hole the podcast of The Trial of Lucy Letby following the court proceedings in Liverpool, UK of the nurse who is accused of murdering 7 babies and attempting to murder 10 more. Absolutely shocking and harrowing; and when doctors demanded she was removed from the ward caring for the prem babies, this request was refused! No babies were murdered or harmed when she was not on duty nor when she was away on holiday but yet she claims innocence and that the doctors are "out to get her." There is no adequate description for this person on trial for murdering tiny innocent infants and harming others at least one of whom now has cerebral palsy because of her attempts to take her life.


Out and about, recommendations and referrals

  • Unique Physique - https://www.uniquephysique.co.za/

  • Culture Hair - 2 Stan Road, Sandton - https://www.instagram.com/culture_hairsa/?igshid=Zjc2ZTc4Nzk%3D

  • Legacy Nails & Beauty - 2 Stan Road, Sandton

  • Silver Birch Restaurant - https://www.thesilverbirch.co.za/

  • The Clay Oven - https://www.clayoven.co.za/

  • Izzie's Coffee Shop - https://izzies-coffee-shop-and-roastery.business.site/

  • Olivia's Coffee Bake Shop - https://olivias.co.za/

What have I been reading/are reading?

  • A Night on the Orient Express by Veronica Henry - a delightful pure escapism read

What have I been watching on the small screen?

  • Pointless - BBC brilliant quiz show

  • My usual staple of "bubblegum" tv

  • Love and Death - a brilliant portrayal of a true life event in Texas; produced by David E Kelley

  • Clean Sweep - an amazing thriller

  • Selling Sunset - Netflix, beautiful homes in LA, fashion ranging from the classy to ridiculous, and so much petty pointless drama


What have I been listening to?

  • The Damage Report

  • Mel Robbins Podcast

  • Something was Wrong

  • What came Next

  • Prosecuting Donald Trump

  • True Crime Daily

  • Witnessed : Devil in the Ditch

  • The Trial of Lucy Letby

  • True Spies

  • Believe in Magic

  • Filthy Ritual

  • Finding Samantha

(the last 4 podcasts all fit neatly into the 'down the rabbit hole' genre)


Still listening to on Audible, "Tiny Beautiful Things" by Cheryl Strayed - I have the tv series of the same name (again a Reese Witherspoon masterpiece) but want to finish listening to the book before watching the tv series.


And I hit my 700 day streak on Duolingo this last week!! The pursuit of learning, speaking and understanding Italian continues......


That's all - love, light and blessings always


11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Sh*t my Mom never taught me. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page