top of page
  • Writer's picturebeehelm0410

My Funny Old Fortnight - 17 July to 30 July 2023

Oh what a circus!


On this Sunday morning while the sun is shining, there is a brutal icy wind blowing and I am so grateful to be wrapped up in a blanket on the couch writing and typing this blog post. It would be a beautiful winter's day but for the wind; here's hoping this is the last of the brutal winter weather. And if you are reading this from the countries enjoying summer weather, I hope you are keeping cool and the heat is not too brutal and fierce. The wildfires wherever they are from Canada, to various European countries and Greek islands are too awful, and to learn about how the sea is literally boiling and measures have to be taken to keep coral reefs alive is daunting. And yet there are still deniers of climate change and global warming when the evidence speaks for itself.....




Not much to report on for the week of 17 July as it was an exceptionally pressurised week in terms of work so I worked late every night and even last Saturday morning.


We enjoyed hosting a "build a burger braai" with Morgan and Alyssa, Tristan and Skye and Ros and her son, Daylon. I met Ros when we moved to Jo'burg in September 2001 when I started working at Webber Wentzel and the rest as the adage goes, is history (and you may recall I recently reconnected with her for breakfast and also recently had gone to a bingo event together). We had a great time with everyone and it was an enjoyable late afternoon/early evening gathering.


Thankfully we had a quiet Sunday planned as I was exhausted but we did venture out to my Mom on Sunday for a lovely fish lunch with her; which we enjoyed sitting on her sun drenched patio.


My "circus type" week started last Monday with an appointment with Shane Litvin, Morgan's friend, client and biokineticist. I am still being plagued by my shoulder and upper arm injury sustained in my fall in late January and my session with Shane almost reduced me to tears as he managed to pinpoint the exact location of my shoulder pain and discomfort. He also brought in one of his colleagues, Marco Maruggi, who is a chiropractor at Synergy Holistix; these guys are both amazing so thorough. I had an appointment with Marco on Wednesday afternoon, the tears were close again but his treatment, needling and strapping helped. From my chiro appointment to xrays at Randburg Medicross which was quite an experience. What is it with these miniscule gowns you are given which border on straitjackets? And you put it on (well, me) and then think because its almost constricting your airway that you have it on back-to-front and the positioning of the label also makes you think so; so you take it off and try it that other way around, only to discover now that does not work as then you are even more undignified rather before so have to repeat the whole rigmarole once again; and all with a shoulder and upper right arm which are in agony!! Then you are pushed, prodded, poked and moved into a number of positions where you are "just-so" for the xray tech. And I still might have to have a scan....... I don't know if I can cope with more tangling and fighting with a constricting gown designed for a stick insect .... time will tell and more will be revealed, if more ways than one, in due course!!


In between the various forms of physical treatment and torture, I was able to have a much-needed and so long overdue, facial with the incredible Careen who was an amazing referral from Lindy. And Tuesday morning my day started off very early fighting gridlock loadshedding traffic to get to Morgan for a much-needed haircut and blowdry before I made my way to Solid Gold Studios in Kensington B, Johannesburg where I was met by the very friendly and personable Shannon who made me a much-needed and enjoyed coffee. This after a cappuccino from Morgan met I was suitably fuelled up with caffeine for my podcast interview with Dr Skye Scott who has a podcast, Health with Heart. We follow each other on Instagram, I delivered a copy of my book to her at her medical practice and she invited me to be interviewed on her podcast. It was a truly amazing experience from being educated on recording a podcast to the conversation we had; I just spoke my truth and whilst I did think later about things I wanted to say and did not, I am not indulging in self-flagellation and have put my inner critic and self-doubt on 'mute'. The Solid Gold Studios are really funky and fun; and I was gifted a great mug too for being a guest there.







I am not sure when the podcast episode will be aired; of course I will let everyone know on my various social media platforms. It was an incredible experience and I am so honoured to have been invited to be interviewed by Dr Skye Scott - and as a fan of podcasts it was intriguing to see something of what happens "behind the scenes" of a podcast.


And while I have worked ridiculous long hours and no overtime is paid, there is some reciprocity as when I need time off to be able to be interviewed for the podcast, attend the various medical appointments etc, it is approved with no problem so its very much a "swings and roundabouts" scenario and I have been told to also have an afternoon off which is greatly appreciated and I will do this on Thursday, 3 August 2023 - after my chiro appointment, I may need the time to recover ha ha ha!


We enjoyed attending quiz night at Del Forno on Thursday night along with Ros and her friend, Claudia. It was quite a difficult quiz and there were 3 questions where I should have got the answer right and did not but so be it; we will endeavour to redeem ourselves at the next quiz night. This was an event organised by Kerrin from "Girls Got Wine".


Ironically, Kerrin has invited me to be the guest at the monthly "Girls Got Wine's bookclub" on Sunday 6 August 2023 which is being held at a quaint establishment, Syringa Cafe. There will be a spit braai lunch which all participants of the bookclub event can enjoy. I am honoured that Tristan will be joining me as part of my presentation to the bookclub. The opportunity to share Tristan's story, to share our hope and to spread the word endeavouring to break down the doors of stigma and shame which barricade the disease of addiction is so appreciated.




I enjoy being of service to Co-Anon which is something I did on Tuesday, 25 July leading the online meeting and again I am always grateful for the opportunity to be of service and endeavour to help others as Co-Anon has helped and continues to help me so much.


I am truly appreciative too of the fact that I am part of EDA as it is helping me enormously in terms of dealing with and overcoming the reasons why I have for far too many years of my life eaten my emotions. I had missed the last 2 meetings and yesterday morning going to the meeting after a divine manicure with Careen, it felt so good to be in the room, to be able to be vulnerable in an such a safe and non-judgmental environment. And it was fantastic to venture from Parkview to Northcliff to collect Tristan, who had been working, and go to a nearby Seattle Coffee shop for coffee and catch up chatter and conversation. Skye collected Tristan from there so it was fabulous to see her for a little while before we had to go our separate ways.


Johan and I spent part of Saturday afternoon at Lifestyle as it is so handy to go there and be able to do shopping errands whilst my dirty car was washed, polished and vaccuumed. Later today we will be heading off to Redhill School to see a magic show - the magician is Brendan Peel and while Johan has met him, he has not seen him perform - that will all change at 5pm when we see his show which is part of a festival taking place at Redhill School. Dare I say it will be magical?


Talking of magic .... Abracadabra ..... this is happening on 19 August in Pretoria ..... 2 performances ....



Out and about, recommendations and referrals

What have I been reading/are reading?

  • Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter (I am honestly battling with this book and I am surprised as I have heard a number of interviews with Jess Walter, listened to "The Angel of Rome" on Audible and that has all been easily listening to but I am struggling with this book so have set it aside for now)

  • Confessions of a forty-something f##k up by Alexandra Potter - very easy reading and so funny

What have I been watching on the small screen?

  • My usual staple of "bubblegum" tv including The Great British Sewing Bee

  • The Sixth Commandment - a BBC drama series based on a horrific true story; excellent and compelling watching and my dear friend and former colleague, Michael Carklin, starred in it as he was part of the jury



  • The Steeltown Murders - another British drama series also based on a true facts; and Michael was featured in this again as an extra, this time playing the role of a plain clothes policeman

What have I been listening to?

Podcasts:

  • Something was Wrong

  • True Crime Daily

  • The Trial of Lucy Letby

  • The Girlfriends

  • The Retrievals

  • Queen of the Con Season - The Unreal Housewife

With blessings love and light till next time!


15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Sh*t my Mom never taught me. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page