top of page
  • Writer's picturebeehelm0410

My funny old last 2 weeks!

My funny old week commentaries are meant to be just that, weekly! But my emergency dental surgery and the recovery threw a real scalpel in the works so this is my commentary and observations on my funny old last 2 weeks.

What I have done?

My post-op recovery has taken a while and its toll on me but a vitamin B12 jab on Friday (I used the opportunity to simultaneously get my 2nd covid-19 booster too) has helped. The area of the removal of the abscess was still infected and inflamed on Monday when I had my check up with my maxillofacial surgeon (whom I have to see again tomorrow).

When I had the energy, I did manage to write my blog posts about my emergency dental surgery and started the photographic posts of the photos from our Roaming in Rome adventure which Johan and I undertook in December 2019 / January 2020. The reason for the photographs here will become very apparent in the future. And no, I will not reveal anything further – my lips are superglued!

I am proud of myself as I managed to complete a baby jersey. I had knitted the one side of the jersey months ago and managed to finish the other side which our housekeeper, Sa sewed up for me. My knitting skills are so basic and limited so my repertoire extends to knitting squares, teddy bears and a tshaped baby jersey. The one I finished which Sa skillfully sewed up for me (and full disclosure in our house if Sa is not available and buttons are to be sewed, that is one of Johan’s jobs) was for her granddaughter and here Nicky is modelling her new jersey (she will be 1 in November).


It was awesome seeing all my family last weekend who came to check in, check up on me. Saturday it was my Mom, Morgan and Alyssa; Sunday it was Tristan and Skye.

Morgan took me to my check up on Monday since my feeling of being a rag doll failed to fill me with confidence to drive to the appointment.

What else have I been doing?


Lots of sleeping, gentle walks around the garden to get my daily dose of Vitamin D, clean up after the dogs, reading, listening to podcasts and an audible book, watching tv, more sleeping and rinsing my mouth out so much with salt water I might as well be the ocean.

What have I been listening to and watching?

Podcasts:

Crime Stories with Nancy Grace

The Damage Report

Who Killed Daphne?

The Daily

The Execution of Bonny Lee

Scam Fluencers

Fed Up

Audible:

Spirit Junkie by Gabrielle Bernstein – and I finished it!

Downloaded and about to start: Empire of Pain The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty by Patrick Radden Keefe (I have heard him interviewed on a podcast, Heart of the Matter, by Elizabeth Vargaas and am looking forward to listening to this)

Netflix:

I binged the new season of Virgin River. Also watched The Most Hated man on the Internet, finished My Lover, My Killer; Jimmy Savile: A British Horror Story (and it is horrific); Love & Gelato (sweet but very cliched; thrilled of course to see parts of Rome in the movie) and the movie, This is Where I Leave You which made me laugh so much.

British Bake Off The Professionals (my favourite baking duo won – yahoo!)

Day 8 of the January 6 hearings

My weekly dose of what I have dubbed my “bubblegum tv” – The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills, The Real Housewives of Dubai and Below Deck Mediterranean. One has to have mindless viewing which requires zero brain engagement at times.

In closing:

Otherwise, along with my diet of soup and yoghurts, I have learnt some valuable life lessons; yesterday plucked up the courage to confront my work e-mail inbox – 4 hours later I feel more confident about starting work again on Monday morning hopefully with my feet facing forward.

I am feeling quite anxious about resuming work, its been 17 years since I had so much sick leave and I think its this which is the root cause of my anxiety. I am eternally grateful to my colleague, Bev who deserves such a big shout out for her incredible support and assisting my boss over and beyond all her huge normal workload and responsibilities. Bev, I owe you big time – thank you so much!

I am grateful to my family and friends who checked in daily, or almost daily, with me about how I was feeling, recovering and healing.

I am equally grateful to all the support, love, encouragement and compliments I have received about my blog site and Facebook page for my blog site – thank you so much.

While there will be other blog posts, until next Sunday for the next instalment of “My Funny Old Week” – ciao tutti!!



Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Sh*t my Mom never taught me. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page