top of page
  • Writer's picturebeehelm0410

My Funny Old Week: 8 November to 13 November 2022

The sodden muddy lawns and flowerbeds are testimony to all the rain we are so grateful for and muddy pawprints on the floor tiles are easily resolved with a bucket and mop unlike water restrictions and dry dams.


Battling to get laundry dry and coping with the eau-de-wet-dog is challenging together with the idiots who can barely drive on a day of sunshine and dry roads and are a nightmare in wet and rainy driving conditions (on Friday I drove past the aftermath of two accidents which could have only be as a result of colour-blind speedy drivers) but continue to be appreciative of the falling rains.


Milestones and highlights of the week are :

Milestones:

· Elmo being sterilised on Monday (one of the terms and conditions of his adoption)


Highlights:

  • A lovely long phone call with dearest Deseré calling from London on Monday evening, it was so special to chat to her and catch dup after a far too long absence and out-of-touchism

  • Being able to have a quick coffee and catch-up with Lovely Lindy, Mali, Carise, Ava and Connor celebrating Mali’s 14th birthday on Thursday evening

  • Despite trying to grow my hair, having a much-needed hair trim and shape by Morgan on Friday

  • Obtaining my new glasses so now I am singing “I can see clearly now, now that I have new glasses”!

  • Attending the monthly Co-Anon physical meeting on Saturday

  • Eating ultra-delicious fish and chips with Johan and my Mom on Sunday at my Mom's cottage (fish and chips from Fisherman's Kitchen in Bryanston; really tender and delicious and ultra-reasonably priced)

  • Our housekeeper's youngest son, Rikardo, graduating from college in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe and Saziso being able to be at his graduation.

  • The USA mid-term results; the Democrats retaining the Senate and that there was no red wave, let alone red tsunami, not even a red puddle. I do believe that there may indeed have been a red wave at Mar-a-Lago when the Trump Stain indulged in his usual "ketchup flying" temper tantrum - just like he did at the White House on 6 January 2021.



Saziso and Rikardo at his graduation, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe


Milestone AND highlight:

  • Attending my very first EDA meeting on Saturday - EDA = Eating Disorders Anonymous. I took my very first step towards working towards dealing with eating my emotions and comfort eating. Through attending the Co-Anon support meetings in my role as a mother and parent of a child in recovery, I am continually being educated, and educating myself, about addiction and some causes of addiction. The realisation that childhood trauma through bullying, feeling invisible, being made to feel "less than" coupled with "not good enough" let alone defective and having hurtful words jabbed at me, words transforming into obstacles in my mind and heart, all contribute to my unhealthy relationship with food and gave me the courage to attend my first EDA meeting. I will keep going back to those meetings which I found a safe and supportive space to deal with my own personal addiction.

Strange encounters:


A quick pop-in at the Pick 'n Pay supermarket to buy some essentials found me in the aisle with coffee, tea and cereals. A woman looking at cereals asked me if I knew a particular cereal was "gluten free" - I had no idea and said as much but pointed out certain specific wording on the box. This woman, a complete stranger, launched into the story of her 18 year old who must have a gluten free diet, the daughter having been constipated for months and nothing is working - my expression was the epitome of the "deer caught in the headlights" phrase. I literally FLED thinking her poor daughter would be cringing if she knew of her trouble with her bowel movements was being regaled to a perfect stranger in the supermarket!! I was cringing. Talk about a bizarre bowel encounter in the cereal aisle!!

Another strange encounter was on Saturday with someone I really thought was intelligent enough to not be an ardent Trump Supporter, Trump Clan Member and Drinker of the Trump Koolaid - I was so wrong; I describe this strange slipping-down-the-rabbit-hole encounter in the blog post "Cons, Conspiracy Theories and Cults".


I loved the below Desmond Tutu doll which was at the venue of the EDA meeting on Saturday. The late and great powerhouse known as Desmond Tutu was a real larger than life and love person. A man small in stature but giant in love, personality, patience and spirit.


I was privileged to be present at a Sunday evening dinner many years ago, while still in high school, in Grahamstown. In those apartheid years Desmond Tutu was banned by the South African Government and was technically illegally in Grahamstown. He had preached that evening in the Grahamstown Cathedral; I was good friends (and still am) with the then Dean of the Cathedral's daughter and so was invited to dinner that evening. His stories and his laugh which seemed to emanate from deep within him was so powerful, genuine and a laugh full of life and joy. It was many years before I understood the privilege and significance of this event in my life.

I am unapologetically sensitive, emotional and at times dramatic. I believe in always trying to be kind, to convey kindness, love and "just being nice" to others; always trying to walk the talk and talk the talk of "do unto others as you would do unto them" therefore treating others like I would like to be treated. It is not always reciprocate and on Friday two encounters which left me feeling treated as "less than" hurt me deeply - one where an ultra minor typo was blown up into a tsunami of epic proportions making me question my ability, my intellect, my sense of worth and worthiness. Words have the potential to become hurtful darts and in an ideal world the slogan used in our recovery support group "practice the pause" would be used by everyone; pausing before shaping and articulating words.







What I am reading?

  • "Mafia Princess" by Mariso Merico

Podcasts:

· Crime Stories with Nancy Grace

· Internal Affairs

· The Daily

· Damage Report

· The Bittersweet Life

- Dear Gabby

· Devil Town

- Cover Story

- No Lie with Brian Tyler Cohen

- Heart of the Matter with Elizabeth Vargas - inspiring interview with comedian and actor

Tommy Davidson; brilliant


What am I watching?

Netflix, downloads and more on my laptop screen:

· My usual bubblegum tv

· Pointless

· Bargain Hunt

· Chicago Med, Law & Order and all the amazing Dick Wolf productions

· The Great Canadian Baking Show

· The Great British Bakeoff


I am on a 513 days streak on Duolingo; I've completed the November challenge, now learning about occupations and measurements.


Remembrance Sunday - 13 November 2022






9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Sh*t my Mom never taught me. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page