top of page
  • Writer's picturebeehelm0410

My Funny Old Week – Monday 31 October to Monday 7 November 2022

The (almost) first week of the new and penultimate month of the year has already flown by without much fanfare let alone fireworks (thank goodness) though some idiot in the neighbourhood clearly thought Friday, 4th November was Guy Fawkes setting off fireworks galore leaving our Saturday evening to be peaceful and calm. There were some natural fireworks (lightning) in the skies and both that plus the fireworks purchased in the shops, sends our poor Old Man Jack into a trembling panting frenzy – all I can say is thank goodness for allergex tablets; work like a dream with him and safe to administer to him. As he is 15 ordinary years (105 years in dog years) he is entitled to some meds to help keep him calm and steady.


Loadshedding continues jumping from stage to stage; I feel I never know what’s really going on until we are plunged into darkness – thank goodness I getting new glasses (not out of choice but necessity; oh the pesky fringe benefits of maturity!) because hopefully that will mean I am no longer fumbling around in the dark!! If you are reading this and are in South Africa, and need an eye test look at Optique Optometrist – my eye checkup last Tuesday (I was in Sandton for our monthly work team meeting, breakfast and my weekly guest appearance at the office) was so intense, thorough and after 45 minutes and photographs of my eye ball etc cost a mere R99. Before that type of test has cost me in the region of R600 in the days BC (remember its BC for Before Covid not Before Christ). I was really impressed and thrilled too that they organize for you to pay your spectacles off over a 6 month period which is a huge help. Can’t wait to get me new eyes!


Driving home from work we had a rather too-close-for-comfort with a driver who was clearly blind indicating to turn across my path of travel right and not only indicating but turning – slammed on brakes, swift swerve out of the way and he was close enough I could have punch him if my driver’s window had been open – clearly a lucky packet driver (got his license in a lucky packet). My left shoulder is still bothering e from the stunt like driving I had to indulge in – for 5 minutes after I was shaking and wanting to throw-up; it was not one of the most pleasant experiences.


Its been month-end – that time when your phone constantly pings with notifications of your debit orders being deducted from your bank balance at a speed faster than light; it is so disheartening but c’est la vie. Month end means billing at work and all these invoices and fee narratives to attend to and dispatch to the clients – a necessary evil and all part of the job but not really stimulation for my withering brain cells.'


To brighten up this post and life in general, and before you all fall asleep because this is so boring, did you know that you can get emery boards for your dog/s? Yes nail files ala beauty salons and doggy grooming parlours I summise! I spotted these in Dischem last week - stocking filler for your furbabies anyone?


How cool are these takkies which Morgan put his very personal creativity, flare and panache too for Alyssa's birthday present? The designs are very personal and so she truly has unique, one -of-a-kind bespoke takkies -






Brilliant unique labour of love - I am so impressed.


The weekend consisted of some work on Saturday morning (yes yes I know but it was not for too long and it was a time when the chalk lines on the floor were blurred); attending the adorable and awesome Ava's 7th birthday which was lots of fun - I had to bow out before Happy Birthday was sung and the cake cut as I needed to do my daughterly duty and take my Mom shopping which is always an experience especially when she thought I had small lights on the passenger side of my car - it was the sun reflecting on little screws where a shelf had been in the car but since it is almost a "Rent a Wreck" don't complain as long as it gets me from the proverbial A to B and home; and is good at dodgy and swerving blind drivers its all good. Sunday was a day to be at home with a long lovely catch up call with Bronwyn, writing and relaxing - I only ventured as far as the garden. Bliss!


I wrote about "From Scratch" in my blog post "The Tolling of the Death Knell Part II" - I binged it on Friday and Saturday nights on Netflix; it is beautiful, very relatable and I needed the tissues but highly recommend it if only for the Florence scenery and the food!


Our rescue puppy Mister Elmo went to be sterilised today and he had a pedicure while under anaesthetic as well as his eyes being flushed out. He is somewhat subdued this evening but ate his supper with gusto (as always) and he will be fine. Can't believe how huge he is in the short space of time we gave him a furever home - and no we still don't know exactly what his DNA is let alone his parentage though one parent clearly had big paws and stout legs.


Elmo which means 'worthy of love'


I have relished having voice note catch ups with my gorgeous brother from another Missus and Mister, Paolo all the way from Madeira and this evening as I finished work an awesome call with dearest D, calling all the way from London. I had the privilege of working for an with Desere for an all-too short time (my lack of foresight) many years ago; and it was so special to hear her voice and have a good chat - we could have spoken for hours so there will be many more calls. Its so wonderful and uplifting to connect with like minded people in whatever form and shape the communication takes.


What am I listening to -

Podcasts

· Crime Stories with Nancy Grace

· ·The Daily

· ·Damage Report

· ·The Bittersweet Life

· ·The Tylenol Murders

· Dear Gabby

· Devil Town

· Cover Story - Season 1 : the horrors of abuse of psychedelic trials and therapies

- Hillsong - A Megachurch Shattered


Audible -

Happy Days by Gabrielle Bernstein


What am I reading?

"Mafia Princess" by Marisa Merico (shocking, horrifying true story of a genuine Mafioso family)


What am I watching?

Netflix, downloads and more on my laptop screen:

· My usual bubblegum tv

· Pointless

· Chicago Med, Law & Order and all the amazing Dick Wolf productions

· The Great Canadian Baking Show

· The Great British Bakeoff

· Dateline

·· Vatican Girl – the disappearance of Emanuela Orlandi (true story) (as I watched this it struck me that in Rome we stayed in Viale Vaticano looking at part of the historical and substantial walls surrounding the Vatican City and we were in St Peter's Square on 3 different occasions; having no idea of the devastating and tragic mystery of the disappearance of Emanuela Orlandi. Of course the walls of the Vatican City hold secrets and mysteries from thousands of years and Vatican Girl is not a Dan Brown thriller though it very well could be).

· NBC News

· Sky News




15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Sh*t my Mom never taught me. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page